sometimes i think she’s truly crazy … and i love it.

April 4, 2008

Living alone has given me the opportunity to really appreciate two pieces of good advice I have received about housekeeping/living conditions:

1.  The reason hotels feel so good when you wake up is because there is no pile of clutter staring at you in the face first thing in the morning or last thing thing at night (…unless you’re traveling with me and all my suitcases, but I digress…).  Keep the bedroom just that … a bedroom.  All you really need are a bed, a nightstand large enough to accommodate a lamp, a book, and a cup of tea (or diet dr. pepper) and that’s it.

Moving to XXXXXX I pared down.  My former room had taken on the crazed-albeit-charmingly-eclectic look, and I wanted to simplify when I left home.  I invested in some good quality white sheets, a white down comforter and a minimalistic, non-intrusive blonde platform bedframe.  In my new apartment, the bedroom is – just that – a BEDroom, with little room for anything else.  There are two pieces of art in the bedroom – a replica of Van Gogh’s sunflowers and an organically-shaped vase made of aqua glass the color of a Tiffany & Co. box.  The curtains are white sheers, and everything about my bedroom makes me feel peaceful, clean, calm, and relaxed. A little elegant, a little sexy.  It’s an inviting room that invites naps and weekends.

2. It’s a known fact that you cannot clean a shower properly unless you’re naked and in it … otherwise you’ll be too afraid of getting wet.

I don’t know why it never occurred to me before.  It’s so true.  The stress and “eek” factor of shower-cleaning is completely null-and-void when you’re in the buff.  You can hope in and scrub down and fearlessly wield the showerhead …getting the spray into all the nooks and crannies.

Bonus points if you bring a friend.

Maybe one day I will write a book called Getting Clean, Getting Dirty: The Modern Girl’s Guide to Shower-Cleaning and Seduction

One Response to “sometimes i think she’s truly crazy … and i love it.”

  1. GµårÐïåñ Says:

    I’ll be looking forward to the book. Can I get a signed copy 😀


Leave a Reply

