apt.

March 16, 2008

Tonight is my first night alone in my new apartment.  I recently relocated to the same city where I work (about 10 miles from where I was living) and am living in half of a house built in the early 1900s.  I haven’t come to terms with the new apartment just yet, and although its perfect and I adore it, we haven’t established our balance of energy just quite yet.  I’m not very new-agey, but I do  believe in the presence of energy (of previous tenants, events, history) and every time we enter or leave a place we leave a sort of energy thumb print.  I think – much like relationships of any sort – it will take a bit of time for the house to accept me as a new page of its history, and vice versa.  For now, I am learning how many steps there are from my bed to the bathroom with the lights out, the pops of old window frames settling in the chilly night air, the click of the furnace turning off and on off and on.

I have a friend who is adamant that living in an old house requires a “smudging” ceremony (burning sage) to rid the space of negative energies and then burning other leaves (lavender, cedar, sweet grass) to welcome good spirits and energies.  Apparently “unfavorable” spirits/energies hate sage, but good spirits/energies are drawn to it.  Knowing very little about this topic, other than what I’ve seen on Poltergeist, I’ve been doing a little reading on the subject.

Here is a link to an interesting article on smudging practices if you would like to clarify your space.

One Response to “apt.”

  1. GµårÐïåñ Says:

    Congrats. I know you were worried but I am sure you will be fine. I am not new agey either but I agree with the energy theory. However, I believe as much as your energy is coming in, its adding to the “character” of the house and that is always a good thing. Hope you get comfortable with it and enjoy it fully.


Leave a Reply

